Just some stuff I’ve picked up while working with DynamoDB Global Tables. This was my first time using it; I used it to move a few tables from one region to another without downtime.
When deleting replica tables…
Note that this operation will delete the replica table and is non-reversible. This replica table cannot be re-added later to the global table.
This warning message is a little misleading — the replica table will be deleted, but it’s possible to re-create a new replica table in the region that was deleted.
Replica cannot be deleted because it has acted as a source region for new replica(s) being added to the table in the last 24 hours.
You have to wait for 24 hours before you can delete the source region.
- If you create a GSI in one region, it will automatically be created in all other regions as well.
- If you delete a table from the list of tables (instead of the “Global Tables” tab), it will delete normally. All of the other tables in other regions will be unaffected.